Olympic – India has achieved many successes in 96 years

There was a saying in the context of India that sports will be bad, bad will be written, the Nawab will be, but now the Olympic Games have proved this saying exactly the opposite. The Olympic Games is to be held in Tokyo, the capital of Japan, in July-August this year, the 29th Summer Olympic Games. The modern Olympic Games began in Greece in 1896. India officially took part in the Olympic Games for the first time in 1920. In this context, India is completing 100 years of its Olympic campaign this year. At the 1900 Paris Olympics, Norman Pichard won the silver medal in the men’s 200m and 200m hurdles for British-ruled India. Pichard was a representative of British rule. That is why Olympic historians do not include Pichard’s performance in India’s medals. However, the International Olympic Committee (IOC) constituted in 1894 considers medals won by Pichard in India’s bag. From 1900 to 2016, India has won a total of 28 medals in the Olympics so far. If Pichard’s medals are removed from these, then their total number will be 26. It consists of 9 gold (8 in hockey and Abhinav Bindra in one shooting) as well as five silver and 12 bronze. Former Chief Ministers of Jammu and Kashmir not called ‘anti-nationals’: Shah

The Olympic Games is to be held in Tokyo, the capital of Japan, in July-August this year, the 29th Summer Olympic Games.

Olympic - India has achieved many successes in 96 years, won gold, silver and cosine medals
Olympic – India has achieved many successes in 96 years, won gold, silver and cosine medals

Talking about sports, India has won a total of 11 medals in hockey, while in shooting it has won four medals. Apart from this, India has won five medals in wrestling, two each in badminton and boxing and one each in tennis and weightlifting. In the 1900 Olympics, only Pichard represented ‘India’. In the 1920 Olympics, India sent a team of 6 players, while in 1924 the number increased to 15. Similarly, 21 in 1928, 30 in 1932, 27 in 1936, 79 in 1948, 64 in 1956, 59 in 1960, 45 in 1964, 53 in 1968, 25 in 1972, 41 in 1976, 20 in 1976, 76 in 1980, India was represented by 48 players in 1984, 46 in 1988, 53 in 1992, 49 in 1996, 65 in 2000, 73 in 2004, 56 in 2008, 83 in 2012 and 118 in 2016. India got its first medal in the Amsterdam Olympic (1928) and that too straight gold. The hockey team gave India the medal. After this, the Indian hockey team won consecutive gold medals in the Olympic Games in Los Angeles (1932), Berlin (1936), London (1948), Helsinki (1952) and Melbourne (1956). 1952 Olympics is special for India because this year Kasaba Dadasaheb Jadhav won the first individual medal for India. India returned once more in Tokyo (1964) and won gold while defending its title. However, in 1968 Mexico City and 1972 Munich Olympics, India got only bronze medal. India’s bag remained vacant in the 1976 Montreal Olympics, but again in the 1980 Moscow Olympics, the Indian hockey team targeted gold.

The golden period of Indian hockey ended from here. After this, India has not received any medal in hockey yet. India did not win a medal at the 1984 Los Angeles, 1988 Seoul Olympics and the 1992 Barcelona Olympics, while Leander Paes won the bronze medal for India at the 1996 Atlanta Olympics. This was the beginning of a new era. After this, in 2000, Karnam Malleswari won a bronze in weightlifting and wrote a new chapter in Sydney. India has so far won individual medals in wrestling (Jadhav), tennis (Paes) and weightlifting (Malleswari) apart from hockey. They were all bronzes, but in the 2004 Athens Olympics, Colonel Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore started a new era by winning silver in shooting. Congress provoking people on citizenship law to gain political edge: Patra Beijing Olympics was the most successful for India as Abhinav Bindra won the first and only individual gold for India. India’s account opened in boxing for the first time. India won the most medals in any one of its Olympics in London. India won two silvers this year (Sushil in wrestling and Vijay Kumar in shooting) and four bronzes (MC Mary Kom in boxing, Saina Nehwal in badminton, Yogeshwar Dutt in wrestling and Gagan Narang in shooting). India won a silver (PV Sindhu in badminton) and a bronze (Sakshi Malik in wrestling) in Rio Olympics (2016). Now Indian players would like to celebrate the 100th year celebration in a grand way. India’s 100-team team is preparing to send to Tokyo. Out of these, India can get medals in badminton, wrestling, boxing and shooting.


Facebook Comments